LIVE COMEDY SEARCH

Search Comedians

Advanced Search

Advanced Search

General

Comic Status

Comic Type

Gareth Berliner

Gareth Berliner

Gareth Berliner Videos

Reviews

Gareth Berliner : Original Review

Note: This review is from 2004

Gareth Berliner : Original Review

Berliner is clearly one of life's natural conversationalists. Chatty, friendly and engaging, he's the sort of act audiences instinctively warm to.

It's a style that's very forgiving - whatever the material, he seems such a nice chap that no one could seemingly turn against him. But if you're that easily accepted, it can rob an emerging act of the incentive to really polish the set, which is a perhaps a trap this relative newcomer has fallen into.

Not that there aren't some wonderfully inventive lines here, but strangely they don't quite get the reaction they deserve - in exactly the same way the lulls don't. His relaxed manner is a levelling influence, for better or for worse.

Amid a collection of clever puns and gags about suicide bombers, it comes as no surprise that it's the personal material in which the audience is most interested. Though young, Berliner requires an intravenous device in his chest, and his experiences with the device can transfix a room. And, wisely, he avoids getting too medical with the punchlines.

Monday 22nd Mar, '04
Steve Bennett

News

Comments

Older Comments

Gareth Berliner Dates

Thu 24 Jul 2014

Thu 31 Jul 2014

Book Now

Fri 1 Aug 2014

Book Now

Sat 2 Aug 2014

Book Now

Sun 3 Aug 2014

Book Now

Mon 4 Aug 2014

Book Now

Tue 5 Aug 2014

Book Now

Wed 6 Aug 2014

Book Now

Thu 7 Aug 2014

Book Now
More Gareth Berliner Dates …

Fri 8 Aug 2014

Book Now

Sat 9 Aug 2014

Book Now

Sun 10 Aug 2014

Book Now

Mon 11 Aug 2014

Book Now

Tue 12 Aug 2014

Book Now

Wed 13 Aug 2014

Book Now

Thu 14 Aug 2014

Book Now

Fri 15 Aug 2014

Book Now

Sat 16 Aug 2014

Book Now

Sun 17 Aug 2014

Book Now

Tue 19 Aug 2014

Book Now

Wed 20 Aug 2014

Book Now

Thu 21 Aug 2014

Book Now

Fri 22 Aug 2014

Book Now

Sat 23 Aug 2014

Book Now

Sun 24 Aug 2014

Book Now

Represented by

We do not currently hold contact details for Gareth Berliner's agent. If you are a comic or agent wanting your details to appear on Chortle, click here.

ADVERTISEMENTS

Products