C4's Alternative Election Night returns | Katherine Ryan and Matt Forde among the team © C4

C4's Alternative Election Night returns

Katherine Ryan and Matt Forde among the team

Channel 4's Alternative Election Night is to return with a new team.

Katherine Ryan, Krishnan Guru-Murthy and Rylan Clark-Neal are to host the show, which kicks off just as polls close on December 12.

Political comic Matt Forde, a former Labour aide, will run the show's 'alternative news desk', trade website Broadcast reports, with other guests including Tez Ilyas, former deputy Labour leader Tom Watson, and former Home Secretary Amber Rudd.

It will be the fourth time Channel 4 has presented a satirical political show in contrast to the results programmes on other channels,

The shows started in 2010 with Jimmy Carr, David Mitchell, Charlie Brooker and Lauren Laverne. The format returned in 2015, with Mitchell joined by Jeremy Paxman, with Richard Osman joining the pair for the 2017 show.

The all-nighter is being made by Expectation, which also produces The Tez O'Clock Show and The Big Narstie Show.

Ben Wicks, the company's comedy entertainment creative director, told Broadcast: 'Alternative Election Night will put our sharpest comics, most talented entertainers and most forensic journalists into contact with the winners, losers and also rans on this most historic of election nights.'

Channel 4 commissioner Louisa Compton told Broadcast: 'The Alternative Election will be distinctive, fresh and very entertaining, offering up the perfect mix of two political heavyweights who've just walked out of front-line politics as well some great comedians and entertainers. '

Published: 18 Nov 2019

What do you think?

Live comedy picks

We see you are using AdBlocker software. Chortle relies on advertisers to fund this website so it’s free for you, so we would ask that you disable it for this site. Our ads are non-intrusive and relevant. Help keep Chortle viable.