LIVE COMEDY SEARCH

Search Comedians

Advanced Search

Advanced Search

General

Comic Status

Comic Type

Tom Price

Tom Price

Tom Price Videos

Reviews

Tom Price: Say When

Tom Price: Say When

As an actor, Tom Price has recently been in Torchwood, Secret Diary Of A Call Girl, My Family and is about to be in the forthcoming BBC4 drama about the Monty Python blasphemy row.

But on the strength of his debut Edinburgh show, you wonder if that’s left him quite enough time to work on his stand-up. He gets away with it – just – thanks to a gallon of likeability and a couple of entertaining stories nicely tied together, but it’s a close-run thing. And in a festival with so many options, this flyweight anecdotal hour just doesn’t have enough to stand out.

His opening gambit is to stress that he’s a posh boy. And what pretty much every posh-boy comic has been doing for the past decade is mock the urban accent they think everybody under 20 talks with, just to highlight how out-of-touch they are to that age group. ‘I can’t understand a word they say,’ sighs 31-year-old Price, like a retired colonel harrumphing about immigrants. And so, predictably, he mimics the patois for a good few minutes complete with vocal scr-scr-scr-scr-scrathing. In fact, the person he most sounds like is Tim Westwood – and he’s 53.

His class is also a hindrance when it comes to sex talk, so he tells us from the get-go – an inability to lose himself in the moment that proved quite a stumbling block when he had to fake it in his raunchy TV scene with Billy Piper. His tale of his crippling insecurities on set is one of his best and, rightly, forms the climax of the show. Another yarn, about him witnessing an attempted robbery in Chicago and winding up injured is eventful, and makes up a bit of weight in the show.

But the rest, about his upbringing in sleepy Monmouth, are too slight to capture the imagination as he tells of schoolday ‘gangs’, of his mother referring to her cerebral palsy as being ‘a bit spastic’, and of being stuck in traffic. OK, to be fair, there’s a bit more to that last one than that, and Price puts his all into trying to make it so; but he doesn’t really have the oomph to get the audience on board. It’s all just a little mild, with the occasional spice of a nice turn of phrase.

He pulls things together in the closing quarter, and gives some indication of why each of the preceding anecdotes had a place in the show. But the problem is, we didn’t feel that as he was actually telling them.

Monday 8th Aug, '11
Steve Bennett

News

Comments

Older Comments

Tom Price Dates

Fri 25 Jul 2014

Wed 30 Jul 2014

Book Now

Thu 31 Jul 2014

Book Now

Fri 1 Aug 2014

Book Now

Sat 2 Aug 2014

Book Now

Sun 3 Aug 2014

Book Now

Mon 4 Aug 2014

Book Now

Tue 5 Aug 2014

Book Now

Wed 6 Aug 2014

Book Now
More Tom Price Dates …

Thu 7 Aug 2014

Book Now

Fri 8 Aug 2014

Book Now

Sat 9 Aug 2014

Book Now

Sun 10 Aug 2014

Book Now

Mon 11 Aug 2014

Book Now

Tue 12 Aug 2014

Book Now

Wed 13 Aug 2014

Book Now

Thu 14 Aug 2014

Book Now

Fri 15 Aug 2014

Book Now

Sat 16 Aug 2014

Book Now

Sun 17 Aug 2014

Book Now

Mon 18 Aug 2014

Book Now

Tue 19 Aug 2014

Book Now

Wed 20 Aug 2014

Book Now

Fri 22 Aug 2014

Book Now

Sat 23 Aug 2014

Book Now

Sun 24 Aug 2014

Book Now

Fri 5 Sep 2014

Book Now

Sat 6 Sep 2014

Fri 19 Sep 2014

Sun 28 Sep 2014

Book Now

Sat 4 Oct 2014

Book Now

Fri 10 Oct 2014

Sat 11 Oct 2014

Fri 24 Oct 2014

Book Now

Sat 25 Oct 2014

Book Now

Fri 14 Nov 2014

Sun 21 Dec 2014

Represented by

We do not currently hold contact details for Tom Price's agent. If you are a comic or agent wanting your details to appear on Chortle, click here.

ADVERTISEMENTS

Products

Past Shows

Dogman Tom Price: Say When Tom Price: Not As Nice As He Looks